Tofu Scramble

One of the things I missed the most when I became vegan was scrambled eggs–not necessarily by themselves, but in, specifically, Cosi egg and cheese bagel sandwiches.  I found Fantastic Tofu Scramble and fell in love!  It filled that void that I was feeling.

photo copyI imagine if you’re not vegan all of the time, you might think this is a poor substitute for scrambled eggs.  However, I have found them to be filling, tasty, and surprisingly similar to the consistency of scrambled eggs.  They are also incredibly healthy–the tofu packs a lot of protein.  I also add a lot of nutritional yeast (which gives it a cheesy flavor).  I also add tomatoes, green onions, mushrooms, or any other veggie that I have around.

Directions are on the box, but all the basic, basic recipe requires is a box of the tofu scramble mix (I order in bulk online) and a package of firm (not super firm) tofu, drained.

In the event that you can’t find the scramble mix, or want to go rogue, I add in about a 1/2 cup of nutritional yeast, about 2 tablespoons of tumeric, about 1 tablespoon black pepper, 1 tablespoon salt, about 1 tablespoon each of garlic power and onion powder.

We also love to add a little spice–whether it’s with chipotle pepper flakes, siracha or even tabasco.

IMG_2095

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tofu Scramble

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Scrambled Tofu | Sparkle Bubble

Leave a Reply

